- You Are Here:
- Municipal Court
- Deferred Disposition
For all citations, you must appear in person, mail, or make arrangements by email on your "Appear Date" printed on your citation. Phone calls do NOT constitute an appearance.
Note: Do not pay online before obtaining court approval. All payments are final. Paying online will result in a guilty conviction.
Deferred Disposition is a form of probation, which allows for the dismissal of a charge if certain criteria(s) are met. The probationary period is 90 days and begins when the fees are paid.
For Moving Violations: On or before your Appearance Date on your citation, you may be able to request that your citation for a moving violation be dismissed by complying with the terms and conditions of probation. You will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the court of your desire to do so on or before your Appearance Date. A written notice is a notarized affidavit of eligibility or sworn request.
Dismissing a Case
If the case is eligible for deferred deposition and the defendant competes the required terms, the case is dismissed.
During the deferral period, you cannot receive another violation. Deferred disposition is 90 days of probation.
With the successful completion of Deferred Disposition, there is not a final conviction and the complaint may not be used against you for any purpose. A conviction will not be reported.
Juvenile offenses may be expunged at the Municipal Court under 106.12 Alcoholic Beverage Code or under Art 45.0216 Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.
To qualify for deferred disposition, you cannot currently be on a deferred disposition program at this court or any court. You cannot have completed a deferred disposition program in the last 12 months. If you received a moving violation, you must meet the following requirements:
- You did not possess a commercial driver’s license at the time of the offense.
- You were not charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit or passing a school bus.
- You have not participated in any deferred disposition program during the past one year (calculated from date of previous dismissal to the date of your current citation) in this court.
- Your violation was not in a construction / work zone with workers present.
You may not be eligible for deferred disposition for the following moving violations:
- Cases in which an accident occurred with bodily injury
- Speeding more than 30 MPH over limit
- Passing a school bus
- Passing an emergency vehicle
To Request Deferred Disposition You Must:
Appear in person at the Court on or before the appearance date noted on your citation or mail in your request with your payment.
Enter a plea of guilty or no contest and complete an Application for Deferred Disposition.
Pay the deferred fees in full. In most cases, the deferred fee is $50 above the standard fine amount including state court costs.
The deferral period will not begin until the deferred fee is paid.
If you are under 18 years old and have a Provisional Driver’s License you will be required to take a Defensive Driving Safety course and be retested by the Department of Public Safety.
If you are under 25 years, you may apply for Deferred Disposition but as a State requirement, you will still be required to complete and Texas approved Driver’s Safety Course of your choice to turn in on or before the Deferral end date.
If you are eligible, you may sign up for deferred disposition by mailing the affidavit, a copy of your valid driver's license, and payment to the court on or before your appearance date or by sending request the via email to email@example.com. Please call the court for the deferred fee on your violation.
- Do not pay till you receive confirmation from the Lake Dallas court and order has been approved. (request done by email)
- Required fees and affidavit (request done by mail)
- The Deferred Disposition Affidavit Form
- Lake Dallas Municipal Court Plea and Payment by Credit - Form